Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Why different rubber for backhand?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
shubo View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shubo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Why different rubber for backhand?
    Posted: 03/26/2008 at 1:54pm
Last summer I started playing ping pong again after a long, long break. Things have changed a lot and the number and variety of available equipment is amazing and confusing.

You guys talk about using a different rubber for the backhand side from that of the forehand side. Why is that and what characteristics do you look for? Is it the same for C-pen?
Sponsored Links

bull_harrier View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bull_harrier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/26/2008 at 2:01pm
A lot of it depends on style.  Some people like a faster rubber with a harder sponge  on the FH side  to generate speed and spin; then they use a slower rubber on the BH side for blocking and control that has a softer sponge.  Not a lot of people have super powerful BH shots and just look for control. 
Clipper CR WRB
FH: Boost TP
BH: Boost TP

My Biology/Physiology Learning Channel on Youtube
dalamchops View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dalamchops Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/26/2008 at 2:02pm
the simple explanation is that your BH and FH stroke are not the same, and different rubbers suit different strokes.
Stiga Titanium 5.4 Cpen
Andro Hexer Pips 2.1
Donic Acuda S2 Max
JimT View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JimT Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/26/2008 at 2:54pm