Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Tacky rubber question

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Ndragon88 View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ndragon88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tacky rubber question
    Posted: 11/23/2010 at 3:07pm
Hey guys. I am new to tacky rubbers. Haven't been using them for long as I only recently switched.

My question is: when does a tacky rubber play at it's best. Is it when the initial tackiness wears off?
I am asking this because on my setup now the original tackiness wore off already which is fine. However I then put the plastic protective film (non sticky) and now the tackiness has come back. Like brand new lol. Should I just not use them. Because everytime it's back to normal.

Thanks
Stiga Clipper
Skyline TG3 NEO/Palio Thors
www.youtube.com/ndragon88
Sponsored Links

mon22 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mon22 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/23/2010 at 3:47pm
i read that,

chinese pros actually use fresh/new rubbers which would have initial tackiness as it is more predictable to play with.

as tackiness disappear, speed increases. depends on what you mean by a tacky rubber's peak, because in my opinion it is when it is the most tacky that everything lands for me.

judging from your sig, seems to me you are using both one of the tackyess (lol) of the tacky rubbers in the market. 

i would say dont clean it and leave the film off the rubbers. the tackiness should wear off and be less compared to before.
I am a total Newb. Come at me!
ohhgourami View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ohhgourami Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/23/2010 at 4:50pm