FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Difference between Flat Hit and Drive

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
popperlocker View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote popperlocker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Difference between Flat Hit and Drive
    Posted: 04/07/2013 at 8:00am
Ever since I started playing TT, I've been confused with these two terminologies, flat hit and drive. The two strokes can produce similar results and look similar. Just now, I had a light bulb moment. 

Flat hit = no follow through.
Drive = follow through. 

You're welcome!
Sponsored Links

smackman View Drop Down
Assistant Moderator
Assistant Moderator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote smackman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04/07/2013 at 8:10am
 nah my flat hits  only stop because my arm is connected to my body, I think drives are a bit more cupped and flat hits are more like a slap
Ulmo Duality,Donic BlueGrip C2 red max ,Yinhe Super Kim Ox Black
NZ table tennis selector, third in the World (plate Doubles)I'm Listed on the ITTF website
NextLevel View Drop Down
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NextLevel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04/07/2013 at 8:14am
Much ado about nothing...

The names of strokes is not as important as being able to do them...

Flat hit means that the center of the ball is contacted usually at the center of the racket face without imparting spin.  A fast flat hit can be called a smash or a drive.

A drive is any kind of stroke intended to impart lots of speed on the ball.  You can have a smash or a loop drive, the loop drive having more of a topspin element than a smash.
I like putting heavy topspin on the ball...
Cybershape Carbon
FH/BH: H3P 41D.
Lumberjack TT, not for lovers of beautiful strokes. No time to train...