Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

What do you think of this set-up for me?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
bcbryan View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bcbryan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What do you think of this set-up for me?
    Posted: 12/10/2013 at 12:12pm
First of all, sorry if this is posted in the wrong place, I'm new here as you can see haha. Anyway, a little bit about me. I'm a college freshman, and I play for my club team. My coach has me somewhere around 1000-1100 USATT rating, so I'm not great but I've only been playing seriously for about 4-5 months now. 

I'm thinking about buying a new set-up that's faster, spinnier, with less tackiness so I can develop my loops and my strokes in general. I've been using Cream Transcend rubbers for months now and they're starting to lose their grip and honestly I feel kind of underwhelmed by them now, but as far as I know, it could be because my strokes suck and not because the rubbers aren't enough haha. I don't want anything too crazy because I know it's a mistake for developing players to buy really fast equipment that they can't handle. Since you guys know your equipment much better than I do, I want to pose this question. I'm on a tight budget, and I thought about this set-up for a nice, cheap paddle that has good speed and control:

Blade: Huaruite Clipper
Rubbers: Mars II 

Do you guys think this is too fast for me? Also, all of the stores that have Mars II and aren't sold out only seem to sell it at a sponge thickness of 2.2 or 2.3, which seems really fast. Eacheng, the website I normally get my equipment from, only sells it "factory tuned" and honestly I have no idea what that means. 

Edited by bcbryan - 12/10/2013 at 12:14pm
Sponsored Links

SmackDAT View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member