FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Tenergy help for beginner

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
ttsquared View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ttsquared Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tenergy help for beginner
    Posted: 02/28/2014 at 5:46pm
I was a basement player when I was a wee little lad, took a long break, but I started playing seriously about four months ago, playing often and getting occasional coaching. My current setup:

Primorac off-
fh: Tenergy 05
bh: Tenergy 80

I've heard good things about the Tenergy line, and from the forums and other tt outlets T05 seems to be the gold standard. Most of the people in my table tennis life recommend I stick with the newer tensors, Tenergy in particular.

Does anyone have any recommendations (given my recent foray into tt) for the best tensor to start out with on fh and bh? I don't have a rating, but I'd say I'm around 1300. I don't have a problem with my current setup per se, but I don't have the money to experiment with all the Tenergy rubbers to see if, for instance, the 64 would be more suited for my level; I'm due for new rubbers within the month.

I've thought about springing for the Xiom Vega Pro, but I'm still undecided.

Thoughts?

Thanks.
Sponsored Links

the_theologian View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote the_theologian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02/28/2014 at 5:52pm
really no reason to deviate from that setup. if you're finding it a little out of control and you're using max sponge, you could back off to 1.9. 

definitely no need to experiment with other tenergy rubbers imo.

if you wanted to save cash, you could switch to Palio Blit'z on both sides (probably 47deg on the fh and 42deg on the bh). $28 each.

or something like tibhar aurus (reg on fh and soft on the backhand)