Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Trying out pips for the first time

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Rhainur View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rhainur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Trying out pips for the first time
    Posted: 05/04/2014 at 3:17am
I wasn't sure whether to post this in the Equipment section or the Coaching section, since this is a question about both aspects of the game.

Background: I started playing table tennis seriously last June, and when I say seriously I mean that I have played for at least 6 days a week for a minimum of 2 hours, always 3-4 hrs when I could manage it. In that time I have gone from a timid "push/chop everything back unless it's a couple of feet high, in which case try to smash" to better footwork, better positioning, opening up and looping any long or slightly high ball, etc, and recently I have just dug in and started to work on consistency, with repeated looping against a blocker, with and without movement.

However, even though I find two-winged looping to be the most entertaining style to play and watch, I'd like to try out the different styles.

The problem: I'm not sure where to start with pips. When I wanted to select a blade and inverted rubbers, there were plenty of people at my club who would let me try theirs for a couple of minutes. There are only 2 players at my club who use short pips and they don't seem particularly skilled at using them. There was a visiting player who played with short FH/long BH, and he was incredibly good, but he was only there for a day. The end result is that I have no way of knowing what to try without spending some money first. I know that long pips and short pips are significantly different from each other, and that long pips in particular require a different playstyle/different strokes compared to inverted.

Questions: