Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

advice for complete beginner

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
SadistiClown View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SadistiClown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: advice for complete beginner
    Posted: 07/27/2014 at 12:31am
So i've decided i'm going to try and teach my girlfriend how to play. she's played maybe 10 minutes in her life. So she's starting from scratch. I also have a timo boll spirit blade spare that i think i'll give her to use. 

I have a few questions. What rubber would you recommend for someone with 0 experience in the game to tack onto timo boll spirit.
also should i give her a 5 ply blade instead or will controlling tbs be easy enough. I'm not sure if i should start her off with something with arylate carbon. i was thinking 1.8 mark V on both sides, what are you guy's thoughts.
Sponsored Links

shaun729 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shaun729 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07/27/2014 at 12:40am
I think an Appelgren Allplay is a good blade to start with but I'm a DONIC fan. You need plenty of control in the beginning, I think a TBS will be too hard to control for a beginner.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SadistiClown Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07/27/2014 at 12:54am
appelgreen allplay is what i started with when i played but i never personally liked the feeling of it im more interested in which rubber would have good control for her. since the only spare rubbers i have are bluefire m3's and tenergy's
808ponger View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 808ponger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07/27/2014 at 12:59am
Butterfly Flextra. Soft and slow
BTY Harimoto Stiga DNA M
shaun729 View Drop Down