Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Switching to Butterfly... (long history)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
diedona View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote diedona Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Switching to Butterfly... (long history)
    Posted: 10/21/2014 at 10:49pm
Hello people!

I'm thinking about a change in my current equipment set. I might be an EJ, but here's some context:

(Long text that can be skipped)

I first started with a Tibhar Match paired with Tibhar Nimbus Soft on both sides. It was good enough for the first 6 months of trainning.

Then i switched to a new "composition": Tibhar Red Cypress + Donic Acuda S2 (FH) + Tibhar 5Q Sound (BH).

At first it seemed very nice, but circa 3 weeks ago (i have been using it for 4 months+), our trainner made a multiball session with me, pointing several mistakes in my style and making corrections.

Currently i'm underplaying my own level because of the adjustments, i think it's normal, he made changes to several key points of my playing, saying it would pay itself in a long term. I trust him.

However, i started disliking my 5Q Sound on the BH. Even for blocking in the trainning sessions i am twidling my bat so i can use the S2 and get better results with it.

When i bought this set i tought that i should have a harder rubber on the FH and a softer one on the BH. During the said multiball session, the trainner stated that i would, at some point, get frustrated with the soft sponge because he changed my BH from a passive style to a more offensive one.

To get the things even worse, i played against a very tallented girl today (she's way over my level). At a point of the match, she suggested we switched blades "just for fun" (she would win anyway, we are friends and i know it was kind of a joke XD)