FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Backhand Flick Help

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
wilkinru View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wilkinru Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Backhand Flick Help
    Posted: 08/10/2015 at 5:04pm
Thanks to this forum I am now a bit of a pro TT junkie. One thing I'm noticing LOTS of is: the trend of the backhand flick to return serve.

Now I'll back up a bit - I've been playing some "juniors" aka kids with coaches lately and when I give them a short serve that inst way into their forehand side - they instantly flick it back. They do not have a very good loop on either wing yet, but they have a very solid forehand counter, backhand counter and backhand flick - as well as a short and long serve. The backhand flick is now a staple of the modern game! In fact all reviews of rubber should include backhand flick ability. It's probably more important than a forehand loop.

So - has the backhand flick just revolutionized returns in table tennis? I am feeling like I am entirely missing out on this skill!

Have you seen coaches teaching juniors the backhand flick as a beginner shot?

I have decided to work on flicking the crap out of everything short for the moment. Besides watching some videos - I don't know much on the technical aspect. It looks like some players really brush the side of the ball. Some players tend to lift the ball up (or both). I've been experimenting - I've been able to flick different types of spin doing the exact same motion and can even put it in both corners, but inconsistent thus far.

What are the finer points to the flick? What's the best way to train this shot?

Edited by wilkinru - 08/10/2015 at 5:07pm
Sponsored Links

berkeleydoctor View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member