FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Switching from Penhold to Shakehand

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
marceldacs View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote marceldacs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Switching from Penhold to Shakehand
    Posted: 08/15/2015 at 8:51pm
Hello,
I have been playing penhold for 2-3 years now but am deciding to switch to Shakehand since Penhold kind of hurts my fingers. I had a question about shakehand. 

-When I am doing a normal forehand stroke, is it normal for me to feel as if the racket is pointed to my left when it contacts the ball (I'm right-handed)? Is this happening because i am hitting the ball too late in my stroke? Should i hit the ball earlier in my stroke when the racket IS perpendicular to the table?

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links

marceldacs View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote marceldacs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/15/2015 at 8:57pm
Another quick question. I have been told to bend my wrist down while hitting with the forehand so that the racket handle is in line with my fore arm. Should my wrist be kept totally stable during my strokes, or should it snap up. I also feel like i have to consciously force my wrist to be straight. Will this become naturally relaxed over time?
zeio View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zeio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/15/2015 at 9:12pm
I will refer you to Ma Long.

Viscaria FL - 91g
+ Neo H3 2.15 Blk - 44.5g(55.3g uncut bare)
+ Hexer HD 2.1 Red - 49.3g(68.5g 〃 〃)
= 184.8g
Baal View Drop Down
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/15/2015 at 9:23pm