Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Basics...real basic

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
DavidR View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Basics...real basic
    Posted: 08/28/2006 at 7:33pm
I have been playing table tennis for about six months with friends from work. We are lucky in that our work has a few tables (albeit cheap tables) that they allow us to play on.

I really enjoy playing and think I'm ready for the next level. Unfortunately, I have been unable to find a good club in my group and would like to know if you can provide any pointers to learn good fundamentals. Video, of course, would be ideal.

I feel pretty confident in hitting decent shots although I don't know if my fundamentals are sound. I have watched a bunch of video posted here but I don't think I'm at the level that most of these videos cater to, yet.

So where should I start?
Sponsored Links

anime_file View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote anime_file Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/28/2006 at 7:39pm
did you look at usatt.org for a club list? and coach list?
DavidR View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/28/2006 at 8:00pm
Yeah...I tried it. They list a club in my area although the number that is listed for that club is not good. I have tried it dozens of times with no answer.

I would love to join a club but the next closest one is over an hour a way.
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote anime_file Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/28/2006 at 8:11pm