Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

coaching experience in ShenZhen, China...

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
miceman View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote miceman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: coaching experience in ShenZhen, China...
    Posted: 06/03/2009 at 11:29am
I just want to share my experience of learning to play TT in ShenZhen for the past 3 months.

I started playing TT last year in Canada with a coach for 4 months.  Then I have my vacation in Hong Kong for 3 months.  So I decided to try to get a coach in either in Hong Kong or ShenZhen to further my learning.

I went to most of the clubs in Hong Kong.  But almost all of them are small in size which in my opinion is too tight of space for playing comfortably.  I also watched some of the coaches teach.  Although the coaches do all the usual drills, but they don't seem to be very professional at all.  But the coaches charge between US$ 35-50/hour, and table fee is from US$0-2.50/hour.

Then I went to a few clubs in ShenZhen and GuangZhou.  GuangZhou has the better aminities and more expensive clubs, but the coaches are better in ShenZhen.  The charge for a coach range from US$9-13/hour + table fee of $3-5/hour.

Usually, I played with coach that charges US$13+5/hour.  By paying US$2/hour more I get my own bounded playing area which is also more roomy and with my own private air conditioning (which is a must in the summer time in asia).  The coaches who charge the most are usually the best of the club.  The less expensive may be good enough for most people, but since I traveled from across the world to here, I just want the best coach.  The coaches are usually from the ex-provincial team, who are those that can't make it to the national team playing with WangHao.  The coaches are in the mid-20's which is the age of WangHao.