Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Rubber not sticking to blade..!!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
mike_wayne View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mike_wayne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rubber not sticking to blade..!!
    Posted: 06/13/2011 at 6:23am
Hi All..!!
I am not an expert in pasting rubbers to blade but I have successfully managed to stick a few rubbers on my friends rackets. Yesterday, I was trying to stick a black Roxon 450 max rubber on my friend's TB ALC racket. I applied Tearmender to both sponge and blade and waited till the glue was dry. I put the rubber on the blade and lightly rolled it a few times with a roller as I always do. The rubber seemed fine at that time. I put the racket beneath heavy books for an hour or two. Then I cut this rubber with my box cutter knife (very sharp one) as usual. But when my friend started to play with this racket after 2-3 hours, the rubber almost fell off the blade on it's own. I have never seen anything like this happen after a decent glue and cut job.Shocked
        My friend has sealed his TB ALC with Minwax Polyurethane spray very lightly and the earlier rubbers stuck fine on this blade with Tearmender. I don't know what went wrong. Can anybody explain where could be my mistake..??Confused
Thanks in advance.

Edited by mike_wayne - 06/13/2011 at 6:28am
Sponsored Links

beowulf View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote beowulf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06/13/2011 at 7:59am
Probably you used too much of Tearmender. Give it another try with very thin coat of Tearmender on both blade as well as rubber.
Blade : Michael Maze ALC
F/H : Andro Hexer 2.1
B/H : Haifu Shark II Soft Max
aeoliah View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member