Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New Penhold Player, Finger Pain

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
crepesack View Drop Down
Beginner
Beginner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote crepesack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New Penhold Player, Finger Pain
    Posted: 09/16/2014 at 2:22am
I played ping pong very casually as a kid and always as a penhold player. I recently started playing more seriously in the last 3-4 months. I even learned RBP from a coach. However I'm getting finger pain in my middle finger from having it parallel to the blade. I would use the curled finger method but my rbp would suffer.

Should I switch to shake hand since I've only just started playing? I worry that I might cause permanent damage to my joints and tendons.
Sponsored Links

schen View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote schen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09/16/2014 at 3:54am
There are many ways to grip the blade with penhold that will still allow for rpb and it's a matter of trying them all to see what is ergonomically best for you.

I remember having thumb and middle finger pains when I first started but a few months later, I either got used to it or adjusted my grip naturally without thinking about it.  Maybe try to include more ring finger support on the backhand side of your blade to offload some of the pressure from your middle finger if you don't want to curl your fingers too much?

It would help to take a picture of your grip for better critique.  
Feedback | FOR SALE - updated Mar 19

Dynasty / H3 / H3
ZApenholder View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ZApenholder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09/16/2014 at 4:00am
Sounds like your setup may be too heavy.
Whats the weight of it?