Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Stiga Rosewood XO - how to glue

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
teomi View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teomi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Stiga Rosewood XO - how to glue
    Posted: 11/27/2014 at 2:14pm
Hi peeps,

I purchased a Stiga Rosewood XO and for the life of me, I can't get the rubber to glue on it.
I know it's problematic and read a bunch of threads but still no go.

Tried different types of glues including the Vario Clean from Donic...tried to apply several coats and waiting for each one to dry in between etc...

The rubber simply peels right off.

I'm trying to avoid sanding the surface so I am looking to hear any successes with this.
I literally spent hours trying to get it done and I've been gluing rubber for at least 10 years so I'm not a novice :)

Thanks for any advice!

Eitan
Sponsored Links

mjamja View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mjamja Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/27/2014 at 2:20pm
Instead of sanding you might consider 00 steel wool.  Milder than most sandpaper grits you normally find and yet it can get just enough roughness to help the glue get a hold.  I used it successfully after I sealed a blade with polyurethane and then could not get rubber to stick to it.

Mark
teomi View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teomi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/27/2014 at 2:31pm
Thanks Mark, I will try that.

I'm wondering if there are people here that were successful gluing without scraping some of the clear coat.

Eitan
p1ngp0ng3r View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote p1ngp0ng3r Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/27/2014 at 3:56pm