Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Changing Serve - how do I setup my Loop now?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
heavyforehand View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heavyforehand Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Changing Serve - how do I setup my Loop now?
    Posted: 08/26/2015 at 9:17pm
Hi, I'm a higher level beginner. Have won some lower level tournaments, have a pretty big FH loop and have been coached before.

I was taught a deep topspin serve that serves me well against lower level players. It was easy to get a popped up return that would set up a FH loop or flat drive. Against better players the same shot gets sent back with even more spin so I knew I needed a backspin serve.

I have developed a pretty good pendulum serve that nobody really can attack, but now I am getting balls pushed back with backspin. As a result Im having some issues adjusting to what my third ball should be. It almost feels programmed in me to loop, which results in a lot of mistakes. I need to work on my push next I think, but I'm not quite sure how to set up an attack with it or where to target. As a result my short game is pretty bad.

Just switched from a 729 Bomb with 2.0 friendship transcend to a Donic Appelgren allplay with 1.8 Mark V. I think this will help a little because the Bomb had so much speed that I couldn't control it well when playing short. It may be a little advanced for me, while I love driving loops back from the table, it doesnt matter if I don't have consistency or short game.

Anyway, any advice on a new third ball strategy is appreciated.
Yasaka Ma Lin Extra Offensive (86 grams)

FH : Joola Rhyzm Max

BH : Joola Rhyzm Max

Weight - 186 grams
Sponsored Links

NextLevel View Drop Down
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator