Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Maximum allowed sponge thickness

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
sonya_weson View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sonya_weson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Maximum allowed sponge thickness
    Posted: 02/06/2016 at 11:47am
Just curious I am new to this
What is the maximum allowed sponge thickness ?

A side of the blade used for striking the ball shall be covered with either ordinary pimpled rubber, with pimples outwards having a total thickness including adhesive of not more than 2.0mm, or sandwich rubber, with pimples inwards or outwards, having a total thickness including adhesive of not more than 4.0mm

Soooooooooo if I have the top sheet thickness of 1 mm (including pip length....... yes a very thin top sheet)  can I then use a 3 mm thick sponge ?   Because I remember being in the rules or someone saying that the maximum sponge thickness allowed is only 2.5 mm 

Also what is with these dual layer sponge rubbers ?  Are they legal?

Sponsored Links

igorponger View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote igorponger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02/06/2016 at 6:37pm
    PERHAPS,   2.6mm is the deadline to be never overpassed.

A while ago, ITTF circulated an official directive to all the rubber manufactures regarding the best acceptable physical limits of the rubber thikness..
ITTF did advice that the maximum of rubber thikness "in the clear", without protective sheet, should not exceed 3.85 mm.

The thickest sponge layer I ever beheld to my own eyes was about 2.6 mm thick, the sponge included to a Tibhar rubber whoes name got out of my memory by now..

Edited by igorponger - 02/06/2016 at 6:56pm
kolevtt View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member