FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Advice on Where to Concentrate to Improve

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
mickd View Drop Down
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mickd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Advice on Where to Concentrate to Improve
    Posted: 02/07/2016 at 9:38am
Hi all. It's been awhile since I posted a video of me playing. Thanks a lot for all the help last time.

I'm looking for general advice on form, footwork, serve, or receive. Anything really! What would you concentrate on if you were me?

Background: I've been playing for 2 years now. While I don't have a coach, I'm very motivated to improve, and have a lot of opportunities to practice (though not always efficient practice).

Here are some of the things I would like to work on. 

I noticed that I generally net light underspin balls to my backhand because I don't drop my arm down enough and end up starting my swing basically at the same height as the ball, limiting the amount of speed I can get on my racket head.

I also think that I hit forehand topspins too close to my body. This limits the amount of speed I can get on the racket, which becomes a problem for medium to heavy underspin balls. I also think I'm raising my body too much when looping underspin.

Here is the last set of one of my recent matches. I plan to post more later. My opponents aren't extremely strong, which allows me to play at a more comfortable pace.

I'm the guy in the Adidas shirt. The one further from the camera.

Here is a video of me from a few weeks ago practicing my forehand topspin against block.

(Once again, with the Adidas shirt!)

Any advice appreciated!

Edited by mickd - 02/07/2016 at 9:49pm
Sponsored Links

zeio View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member