FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Physical training in Table Tennis

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Nagatito View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nagatito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Physical training in Table Tennis
    Posted: 11/23/2016 at 12:25pm
Hi all,

I have been playing table tennis for over 6 years in which I have taken some breaks and got a little extra fat.

Now I am going to the gym at least 3 days a week in which I do classic weightlifting (8 reps, heavy weights and normal pace) and doing functional training (which is a 45 minute hiit circuit) which involves plyometrics, isotermic exercises, explosive push ups and a little bit of jogging at the end.

I know that for the lower body plyometrics, sprints and explosive lateral movement are good ways to increase footwork potential, however, I was curious of what can be done to improve the upper body at table tennis, because when I train my upper body at the gym I feel my body gets "dumb" when playing as there is a lack of control and feeling of the ball. 

What kind of training do you do for upper body?
How frequent do you do it?
Do you include weights?
Do you believe that training with a 5lb weight strap on the arm would improve your arm speed?
Blade: Timo Boll ALC
FH: T05
BH: Roundell
Sponsored Links

DarkerMyLove View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DarkerMyLove Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/24/2016 at 9:17pm
Upper body:  I do 'calisthenics' and also basic dumbbell exercises. (personally I'm not into bulking up)
I mostly work on leg exercises and hip exercises-- but not even to the extend you are doing it.