Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Serve rule queery
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum Home Forum Home > General > General

Serve rule queery

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Simon_plays View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Vietnam
Status: Offline
Points: 335
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon_plays Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Serve rule queery
    Posted: 10/10/2017 at 11:56am
On the serve, after you've thrown the ball up 16 cm, does the ball have to drop 16 cm after you or can you hit it as soon as it starts to drop (or can you even hit it at the peak of the throw?)?

Thanks for any answers.
Back to Top
ZingyDNA View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 09/19/2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2098
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ZingyDNA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10/10/2017 at 12:08pm
Originally posted by Simon_plays Simon_plays wrote:

On the serve, after you've thrown the ball up 16 cm, does the ball have to drop 16 cm after you or can you hit it as soon as it starts to drop (or can you even hit it at the peak of the throw?)?

Thanks for any answers.


You can hit it as soon as it starts to drop. Not sure about the peak.
Back to Top
cole_ely View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member
Avatar

Joined: 03/16/2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5937
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cole_ely Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10/10/2017 at 7:23pm
In database at least I think it's querey.

Nope, that's Sam. It's query

Edited by cole_ely - 10/10/2017 at 7:29pm
W6 fl with Illumina 1.8

Please let me know if I can be of assistance.
Back to Top
cole_ely View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member
Avatar

Joined: 03/16/2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5937
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cole_ely Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10/10/2017 at 7:31pm
Originally posted by ZingyDNA ZingyDNA wrote:

Originally posted by Simon_plays Simon_plays wrote:

On the serve, after you've thrown the ball up 16 cm, does the ball have to drop 16 cm after you or can you hit it as soon as it starts to drop (or can you even hit it at the peak of the throw?)?

Thanks for any answers.


You can hit it as soon as it starts to drop. Not sure about the peak.


You wouldn't want to. The higher the contact point, the higher the bounce
W6 fl with Illumina 1.8

Please let me know if I can be of assistance.
Back to Top
Simon_plays View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Vietnam
Status: Offline
Points: 335
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon_plays Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10/11/2017 at 6:30am
Yup, it's query ('queery' isn't even valid as a scrabble word).

And of course, the reason why nearly all players let the ball drop rather than hit it just as it starts to drop is to keep the ball lower, not because the rules demand it. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.
Mark all posts as read :: Delete cookies set by this forum

Cookies and JavaScript must be enabled on your web browser in order to use this forum


Copyright © 2003-2013 MyTableTennis.NET - All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer