Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Can you call a let when you're not 100% sure?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

tabletennis11.com
Forum Home Forum Home > General > General

Can you call a let when you're not 100% sure?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Simon_plays View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Vietnam
Status: Offline
Points: 408
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon_plays Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can you call a let when you're not 100% sure?
    Posted: 03/08/2018 at 2:45pm
When umpiring a match, is it an option to call a let on a point that you're not quite sure about?

For example, if you're not quite sure if the ball skimmed the edge or the side of the table, is it a valid option to just call a let? 

This happens quite often in training matches when there's no umpire but I haven't seen it happen in league play. However, a lot of the time I feel that the umpire makes a decision one way or the other without being quite sure themselves. Is there something in the rules about this?
Back to Top
Tinykin View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 10/30/2003
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 2083
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tinykin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/08/2018 at 2:59pm
Originally posted by Simon_plays Simon_plays wrote:

When umpiring a match, is it an option to call a let on a point that you're not quite sure about?
No

For example, if you're not quite sure if the ball skimmed the edge or the side of the table, is it a valid option to just call a let?
No

This happens quite often in training matches when there's no umpire but I haven't seen it happen in league play. However, a lot of the time I feel that the umpire makes a decision one way or the other without being quite sure themselves. Is there something in the rules about this? No. It's simply a guidance to umpires


However, at low level matches, commonsense rules.

>60yo, losing weight 30 pounds to go

Yinhe pro feeling + T05/T05

When all else fails, there is always delusion.
Back to Top
Simon_plays View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Vietnam
Status: Offline
Points: 408
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simon_plays Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/09/2018 at 7:22pm
Seems a shame that there's not a 'If the umpire isn't sure as to who won the point he can call a let' rule hidden away somewhere. 
Back to Top
obesechopper View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 04/20/2011
Status: Offline
Points: 459
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote obesechopper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/09/2018 at 7:45pm
My rule is, I can call let anytime I lose the point

Naturally, this does not apply to my opponent either. 


Edited by obesechopper - 03/09/2018 at 7:45pm
Back to Top
guillem View Drop Down
Member
Member


Joined: 04/28/2005
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Points: 69
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote guillem Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/09/2018 at 7:48pm
Originally posted by obesechopper obesechopper wrote:

My rule is, I can call let anytime I lose the point

Naturally, this does not apply to my opponent either. 

LOLLOLLOL

These damned choppers... 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.107 seconds.
Mark all posts as read :: Delete cookies set by this forum

Cookies and JavaScript must be enabled on your web browser in order to use this forum


Copyright © 2003-2013 MyTableTennis.NET - All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer