Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Dealing with muscular soreness

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Simas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Simas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12/23/2019 at 5:26am
Originally posted by pingpongpaddy pingpongpaddy wrote:

Some great answers here.
Another perhaps more fundamental solution involves learning to relax your limbs when making your table tennis strokes.
I have been playing and training for 50+ years. For the first 25 I experienced terrible tennis elbow to the extent of considering stopping altogether. Then I got some very good advice to learn to loosen up my grip and relax my stroke and within a couple of years the elbow inflammation which had been a constant companion disappeared almost completely.
Before this I had just accepted that pain was a normal result of intense effort using the stories of Rod Laver icing his elbow as justification. Now I know better and mostly just suffer the normal lactic acid related aches
Drop here!

I think that's a very good and very relevant advice. 
I had (and I am still in the risk zone) tennis elbow repeatedly and I also have an intuitive feeling that properly relaxing your arm could be a big part of solution to it. My FH technique is pretty good (it's EU - Timo Boll'ish style Embarrassed) and it's pretty relaxed except the times when I wan't to make an all powerful all spinny topspin kill shot. At those moments my arm get's all locked to transmit maximum power from my upper body and I think that at these moment some damage to my tendon maybe added. I am trying to relax my arm at those particular moments when chasing the killshot... but that's sort of counterintuitive or smth and I am not that successful at those instances
Stiga Offensive Classic Legend
DHS Hurricane Neo3
Donic Bluefire JP01 Turbo
Sponsored Links