Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Goofy serve rule exploitation question
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Goofy serve rule exploitation question

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
obesechopper View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member


Joined: 04/20/2011
Status: Offline
Points: 570
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote obesechopper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Goofy serve rule exploitation question
    Posted: 03/10/2019 at 3:30pm
I was just pondering over the service rule and wondered if anyone had some clarity for this part.

They say you cannot obstruct the ball from the receiver's point of view. But, is that dependent upon the receiver's position? 

For instance, let's say someone is serving pendulum serve (turned to the right, so the left shoulder would be facing the opponent). Now... can the receiver just do something stupid like step way off to their right side of the table, which would put the server's back between him and the ball -- and then call it illegal? 

Going with a less drastic approach, what if you serve pendulum serve from your backhand side (of right handed player) and your opponent receives while standing on their backhand side? Just the simple act of you moving to the backhand corner to serve would render the ball obstructed from view, whereas if you did the same serve from the forehand side then it would be a non-issue. 

**I see another rule says nothing between the net and the ball. So that is head on? But you could still block the ball with your body, depending on where the two players stood yet still have nothing between the net and ball. 




Edited by obesechopper - 03/10/2019 at 3:33pm
Back to Top
Tinykin View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 10/30/2003
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 2163
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tinykin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/10/2019 at 3:40pm
Look, table tennis rules and regs are not the same as laws of the land. So don't approach them in the same way.
The serve rules assume that the receiver will be in the 'normal' position. If the receiver chooses to be an ah with his receive positioning, the umpire will either card him or simply allow the serve. Either way, the receiver loses.
>60yo, losing weight 30 pounds to go

Darker Speed90 with T05 and Yinhe moon pro.

When all else fails, there is always delusion.
Back to Top
igorponger View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 07/29/2006
Location: Third planet to the Sun
Status: Offline
Points: 2536
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote igorponger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/10/2019 at 4:44pm
   FORBIDDEN AREA must be clean of anything ........
Just be sure to remove your free hand from the "forbidden triangle area", as soon as the ball gets off the free hand (upon being tossed.)

    

Edited by igorponger - 03/10/2019 at 4:52pm
Back to Top
smackman View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member
Avatar

Joined: 07/20/2009
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Points: 3133
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote smackman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/10/2019 at 6:34pm
The blocking of view happens with all right hander verses left hander doing pendulum serves
Ulmo Duality,tibhar Aurus Prime Dr N Pistal Black
NZ table tennis selector, third in the World (plate Doubles)I'm Listed on the ITTF website,
Back to Top
benfb View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member


Joined: 10/10/2008
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 2327
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote benfb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03/11/2019 at 2:26am
Originally posted by Tinykin Tinykin wrote:

Look, table tennis rules and regs are not the same as laws of the land. So don't approach them in the same way.
The serve rules assume that the receiver will be in the 'normal' position. If the receiver chooses to be an ah with his receive positioning, the umpire will either card him or simply allow the serve. Either way, the receiver loses.
Maybe that might work in your neck of the woods, but it's very definitely not correct within the rules and should not be taken as advice for anyone else.

Igor has it right: the rules are very clear about obstructing the view of the ball from *any* receiving position.  That's why that have that magic triangle that goes from post to post.

Now, in reality, this rule is poorly enforced, but not because rules should be taken lightly.  It's poorly enforced because it's hard for an umpire, sitting on the side even with the net, to have the right perspective to judge the unobstructed view.  

So, the short answer: it is very much a real rule that should be respected and applied, but there are difficulties in enforcing it.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.051 seconds.

Become a Fan on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Web Wiz News
About MyTableTennis.NET | Forum Help | Disclaimer

MyTableTennis.NET is the trading name of Alex Table Tennis Ltd.

Copyright ©2003-2019 Alex Table Tennis Ltd. All rights reserved.