FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Hardbat First, Sponge Later

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
stiltt View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stiltt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hardbat First, Sponge Later
    Posted: 11/09/2019 at 2:43pm
The following idea is inspired by the fact that I started playing in France and we had hardbat paddles only. I was 12 and 3 years in a row, in a garage, I was playing in the weekends with the kids of the family that welcomed me as that boarding school was closed on non school days and my parents were making money abroad  (I saw them 3 times year, 3 weeks at xmas, 3 weeks at Easter, 2 months in the summer).

The rallies were long and controlled it was all about placement, especially to take advantage of the killing angles due to close walls or cars. I think a lot of what I do better than other things from within my game, whatever the level, is fueled by those years of hardbat. Placement, going across, going along the line or to the elbow is relatively more important to do in hardbat since there is no spin factor.

Would it be smart to teach young people to play hardbat first for a few years before moving them to using sponge and inverted? could a hardbat game be a more solid foundation and great material to build a strong framework for the spin game?

In terms of strategy and tactics, the hardbat game seems to me more subtle because the ecosystem is far simpler. The idea is that it would train smarter players who, when switching to sponge and spin, would have an advantage.

acpoulos View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote acpoulos Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11/09/2019 at 8:24pm
Theory used to be to first develop strokes on hard rubber before transitioning to sponge.
Tony
Skyline View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member