Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

PPH's Nexy Zealot Cpen Review

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
PingPongHolic10 View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PingPongHolic10 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: PPH's Nexy Zealot Cpen Review
    Posted: 12/17/2015 at 1:27pm
PPH's NEXY ZEALOT Chinese Penhold 80grams ~5.9mm.

Nexy’s new 4th Generation line is out!  They come in new specs including a nice presentation box.  4th generation’s emphasis is faster blades without adding thickness, & bigger sweet spot.  These two important characteristics are highly demanded to accommodate the new “plastic” balls.  Top ply is “secret wood” which looks like a hardwood.  I’m no wood expert, but top ply looks like something in between Rosewood& Walnut.  They are more porous than rosewood, but darker in color than Walnut.  Second layers Spruce and then Burnt Core (Probably Kiri/Ayous).  I’ve also seen the spruce layers in OLAM blade (7ply with Beech outer).  Spruce is mainly used in popular wood blades such as Hurricane Hao/King, & most of Stiga’s 5ply wood series.  I believe Spruce acts as a cushion between the outer and the core, providing harmonious sync.  The burnt core provides the power of the blade.  The advantage of having a burnt core is reduction of weight with the added speed.  The bare blade produces a medium high pitch, and medium tone which is might translates to a faster blade with lower dwell time than other 5plys.  I paired this blade with a used Big Dipper on forehand, and Omega IV Euro 1.8 on backhand.  Zealot & Olam is avail in Nexy’s website as well as Nexyusa.com.