Print Page | Close Window

My Progress Over Time

Printed From: Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET
Category: Pictures & Videos
Forum Name: Videos
Forum Description: Post table tennis video download information here.
Moderator: mickd
Assistant Moderators:

URL: http://mytabletennis.net/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=77423
Printed Date: 03/28/2024 at 6:54pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: My Progress Over Time
Posted By: mickd
Subject: My Progress Over Time
Date Posted: 11/03/2016 at 12:29pm
Every now and then I start to feel depressed because work gets busy, so I can't practice as much. And when I do practice, I feel like I'm not getting any effective practice in, or I just feel like I'm not improving at all. Those times are really stressful, and sometimes it makes me feel like throwing in the towel. But no matter what I keep playing because table tennis is a game I love.

So I started playing table tennis just under 3 years ago, shortly after I moved to Japan. Ever since I was little, I had interest in the sport, but living in Australia, I didn't think there were any opportunities to play (there are, which I know now, but at the time I didn't).

When I started, I didn't have anyone to teach me. I played casually after work with some kids there. They also weren't that great, but of course, much better than I was. I also didn't really watch many videos online (and to be honest, even when I did, I didn't know what I was looking at).

I developed many bad habits. Habits I still have now, but to a lesser degree. I'm sure this is a very familiar experience with many of you. For example, I had 2 fingers on my backhand for the longest time, among many other weird body movements trying to hit the ball.