Print Page | Close Window

Legal or Illegal?

Printed From: Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET
Category: Pictures & Videos
Forum Name: Videos
Forum Description: Post table tennis video download information here.
Moderator: mickd
Assistant Moderators:

Printed Date: 06/16/2024 at 5:35am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.01 -

Topic: Legal or Illegal?
Posted By: qkac
Subject: Legal or Illegal?
Date Posted: 08/03/2023 at 1:12pm
Legal or Illegal?

FH/BH: BTY D09C max/BTY D05 max

Posted By: jfolsen
Date Posted: 08/03/2023 at 1:36pm
It looks like the racket is out of his hand on the net shot. If so, illegal.

Posted By: NextLevel
Date Posted: 08/03/2023 at 1:56pm
Hard to tell even in slow motion, I think calling it either way is fine as long as you tie it to the rule that jfolsen pointed out.

-------------" rel="nofollow - I like putting heavy topspin on the ball...
Cybershape Carbon
FH/BH: H3P 41D.
Lumberjack TT, not for lovers of beautiful strokes. No time to train...

Posted By: cole_ely
Date Posted: 08/03/2023 at 2:09pm
I do it all the time and don't call it on myself.  Hard to be sure if your racket was touching somewhere at the same time as the ball.

I suppose if I dropped my racket I might call it.

Wavestone St with Illumina 1.9r, defender1.7b

Please let me know if I can be of assistance.

Posted By: cole_ely
Date Posted: 08/05/2023 at 2:48pm
Originally posted by wrote:

100% legal! i saw Mr Niwa through a racket to the net, when he couldn't [in hope to reach] the ball, in hope the ball will land on the racket and bounce back. it was a mega close to the net event following a huge rally....

So there's no rule that the blade must be in your hands?

Wavestone St with Illumina 1.9r, defender1.7b

Please let me know if I can be of assistance.

Posted By: jt99sf
Date Posted: 08/05/2023 at 3:18pm
I thought anytime you lose control of your blade, you lose the point. 🧐

Photino/Super Viscaria : H3 (FH)/Dr N pips(BH)

ζž—εΎ·ζˆ HardBat:Hock 3-Ply /Dr Evil

Posted By: qpskfec
Date Posted: 08/05/2023 at 3:18pm
A player strikes the ball if he or she touches it in play with his or her racket, held in the hand, or with his or her racket hand below the wrist

Posted By: wilkinru
Date Posted: 08/05/2023 at 5:09pm

Legal, if you slow motion the slow motion video part, he had control of the paddle (debatable but he had his fingers around the handle still) when the ball touched and lost control as the ball left the paddle.

With that said we may need more frames and a higher bit rate to be sure :D


Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01 -
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd. -