Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Controversial finish to Austrian Bundesliga Season
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Controversial finish to Austrian Bundesliga Season

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
ericd937 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member


Joined: 06/01/2012
Location: Saigon, Vietnam
Status: Offline
Points: 1093
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ericd937 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06/08/2019 at 5:51am
From the screen shots above, that serve looks pretty darn illegal. If you have to cheat to win, you didn't actually win. Also, could you even continue after that guy jumped up and down on the table? I don't think that would be too good for the table top or the legs of the table. It looked like the table legs may have even been warped after he did that. That table was flexing pretty hard when he was jumping up and down on it. That's just ridiculous in my opinion. No one should ever do that. 

Edited by ericd937 - 06/08/2019 at 5:52am
Current Setup:
Sittiho Hinoki ALC, Baracuda(max), Dignics 05(max)
Official USATT Rating 1815
Current estimated level: Bad Day ~ 1900 Good Day ~ 2100 (In Asia since 2015, no USATT events here)
Back to Top
amateur View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member
Avatar

Joined: 02/29/2008
Status: Offline
Points: 3896
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amateur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06/08/2019 at 9:21am
Originally posted by penholderxxx penholderxxx wrote:

 'The protest was dismissed and the result stands. Stockerau can still file an appeal against this decision.' - amatuer.

Would you know to which authority he appealed to and what he appealed against, what were the grounds of his appeal. Thanks     


Google translation:
"The Bundesliga committee of the Austrian table tennis Bundesliga treated on Tuesday evening the objection of the SG Stockerau after the lost final of Sunday, 26. May. The protest was not granted, whereby the SPG Linz was confirmed as the champion in 2019. Stockerau has, after transmission of the judgment, beginning of next week, still the possibility in the last instance, the court of appeal of the ÖTTV, to go."


Edited by amateur - 06/11/2019 at 10:52am
Back to Top
amateur View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member
Avatar

Joined: 02/29/2008
Status: Offline
Points: 3896
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amateur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06/08/2019 at 9:22am
duplicate post deleted


Edited by amateur - 06/11/2019 at 10:51am
Back to Top
amateur View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member
Avatar

Joined: 02/29/2008
Status: Offline
Points: 3896
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amateur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06/11/2019 at 10:57am
So it seems the protest was dismissed simply because it was filed too late.

And the main grounds for protest would be the fact that the referee (outside of the box) intervened several times and overruled the umpire as to the legality of the serve.
Back to Top
penholderxxx View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 09/19/2016
Location: Malaysia
Status: Offline
Points: 285
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote penholderxxx Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06/12/2019 at 1:47am
' So it seems the protest was dismissed simply because it was filed too late.

  And the main grounds for protest would be the fact that the referee (outside of the box) intervened          several times and overruled the umpire as to the legality of the serve. ' - amateur

 Unfortunate that it was filed too late. 
 But I thought the protest or appeal would have failed if it was considered if it was based on the   'grounds that the referee had intervened several times and overruled the umpire ....... '.

 Handbook for Match Officials - 15th edition 2014

 17.4.3 - Responsibility of the Referee - " ........ By watching the match the referee may find that the   umpire is no longer in control of play and in this situation he or she should take action on his or her   own initiative, either by telling the umpire what he or she must do or by dealing directly with the   offending player. "

 unless there has been a change, .......
 
Iloveplayingtabletennis
Back to Top
amateur View Drop Down
Premier Member
Premier Member
Avatar

Joined: 02/29/2008
Status: Offline
Points: 3896
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amateur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06/12/2019 at 9:31am
Originally posted by penholderxxx penholderxxx wrote:

' So it seems the protest was dismissed simply because it was filed too late.

  And the main grounds for protest would be the fact that the referee (outside of the box) intervened          several times and overruled the umpire as to the legality of the serve. ' - amateur

 Unfortunate that it was filed too late. 
 But I thought the protest or appeal would have failed if it was considered if it was based on the   'grounds that the referee had intervened several times and overruled the umpire ....... '.

 Handbook for Match Officials - 15th edition 2014

 17.4.3 - Responsibility of the Referee - " ........ By watching the match the referee may find that the   umpire is no longer in control of play and in this situation he or she should take action on his or her   own initiative, either by telling the umpire what he or she must do or by dealing directly with the   offending player. "

 unless there has been a change, .......
 


Does that include the determination whether a serve is legal or illegal - or just disciplinary issues? In the Austrian case it seems that the referee intervened quite early, before the situation was out of control. The video doesn't show the whole match though.
Back to Top
penholderxxx View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 09/19/2016
Location: Malaysia
Status: Offline
Points: 285
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote penholderxxx Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06/12/2019 at 9:11pm
 'Does that include the determination whether a serve is legal or illegal - or just disciplinary issues? In the Austrian case it seems that the referee intervened quite early, before the situation was out of control. The video doesn't show the whole match though.' - amateur

From the reading of the wordings in 17.4.3, I would think so but can anyone who knows provide a definite answer. Thanks
Iloveplayingtabletennis
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.

Become a Fan on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Web Wiz News
About MyTableTennis.NET | Forum Help | Disclaimer

MyTableTennis.NET is the trading name of Alex Table Tennis Ltd.

Copyright ©2003-2019 Alex Table Tennis Ltd. All rights reserved.