Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  Help Desk Help Desk  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ball hits net, table, net again...
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Ball hits net, table, net again...

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
WeebleWobble View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 07/07/2012
Status: Offline
Points: 474
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WeebleWobble Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ball hits net, table, net again...
    Posted: 08/26/2020 at 9:14am
Ok, so the timo boll dive point always stirs debate.  


the ball hits the net, then the table, then the net post which is part of the NET.  Then Timo returns it but he was not awarded the point.  But should he have been?  Looking in the rules I can't really find anything that mentions how to deal with this.
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
WeebleWobble View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 07/07/2012
Status: Offline
Points: 474
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WeebleWobble Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/26/2020 at 9:22am
Apparently Adam commented this:


Gildo Schuster you nailed it. That part of the table, the fancy support structure, is called the “chassis” and is CLOSE to the net clamp but is not part of the net assembly. Your description of what you thought might have happened was dead on. I had to see HD, slow-motion, zoomed in footage before I was sure... but in real time... this was nearly impossible to see... and the umpire got it right. Watching it live, I thought this might’ve been the best shot I had ever seen.
Back to Top
WeebleWobble View Drop Down
Super Member
Super Member


Joined: 07/07/2012
Status: Offline
Points: 474
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WeebleWobble Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08/26/2020 at 9:23am
Soooo, according to adam it hit the table twice.  

So if it had hit the net post after the table it would still be in play?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.

Become a Fan on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Web Wiz News
About MyTableTennis.NET | Forum Help | Disclaimer

MyTableTennis.NET is the trading name of Alex Table Tennis Ltd.

Copyright ©2003-2020 Alex Table Tennis Ltd. All rights reserved.