Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  Help Desk Help Desk  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - late pro
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

late pro

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
astaroyd View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote astaroyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: late pro
    Posted: 12/30/2021 at 3:27pm
do you know any pro player who started playing tt at 15 years old or more?
Sponsored Links

Lightspin View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lightspin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12/31/2021 at 5:15am
Define Pro.  Also define the word "Start." 

Most of the time, players who achieve a high level who claim to have started late have a funny definition of the word "start."  "Yea, I started at age 20.  I mean I played all my life but I only started playing 6 hours a day once I hit 20." 

Personally I define "start" as the first time you pick up a racket to play.  I haven't heard of anyone who achieved a world ranking of over 200 who "started" past age 15.  When I trained in China one of the national team coaches told me that if Waldner started at age 16, with perfect coaching, he would have only been a province level player.  To make a province team by starting at 16, you would have to be the most naturally talented player of all time in ideal circumstances. 
andzejgolot View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andzejgolot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12/31/2021 at 10:35am
Hugo Calderano is example, but if he would use Zhang Jike Blue Dragon he won't never pick his level
Zhang jike blue dragon is the worst blade!
From reactional paddles
To playin' some of the hottest TT equipment World has ever seen
From droppin' some of the hottest equipment advices TT has ever heard
Lightspin View Drop Down