Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  Help Desk Help Desk  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - What is the rule when... contacts the table?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

What is the rule when... contacts the table?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
phrixion View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member
Avatar

Joined: 04/04/2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 533
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote phrixion Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What is the rule when... contacts the table?
    Posted: 05/12/2007 at 12:47am
What is the rule when during game play...

1) Your non-paddle hand touches the table?

2) Your paddle hand touches the table?

3) Only your blade hits the table?

4) When both hands touch the table?

5) When your body touches the table? For example when leaning hard for pushes or flips close to the net and your stomach touches the table.

Many thanks in advance for your answers. Smile
Blade: Whatever is close
Rubber Sheet: Whatever still has some grip.
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
TT_Freak View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
Avatar

Joined: 11/21/2004
Status: Offline
Points: 2672
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TT_Freak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05/12/2007 at 1:59am
Only your free hand is banned from touching the table, everything else is ok as long as you don't move the table.
Violin
F1
Actor

10g at 3 and 9
10g at 12
20g at the end of handle
Back to Top
phrixion View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member
Avatar

Joined: 04/04/2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 533
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote phrixion Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05/12/2007 at 2:35am
Originally posted by TT_Freak TT_Freak wrote:

Only your free hand is banned from touching the table, everything else is ok as long as you don't move the table.


Thanks!  Found the USATT and ITTF rules on this and some other interesting things on what rewards a Point.

2.10 A Point

2.10.01 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall
score a point

2.10.01.01 if his opponent fails to make a correct
service;

2.10.01.02 if his opponent fails to make a correct
return;
2.10.01.03

if, after he has made a service or a
return, the ball touches anything other
than the net assembly before being
struck by his opponent;
2.10.01.04

if the ball passes over his court or
beyond his end line without touching
his court, after being struck by his
opponent;

2.10.01.05 if his opponent obstructs the ball;

2.10.01.06 if his opponent strikes the ball twice
successively;

2.10.01.07
if his opponent strikes the ball with a
side of the racket blade whose surface
does not comply with the requirements
of 2.4.3, 2.4.4 and 2.4.5;


2.10.01.08 if his opponent, or anything his
opponent wears or carries, moves the
playing surface;


2.10.01.09 if his opponent, or anything his
opponent wears or carries, touches the
net assembly;


2.10.01.10 if his opponent's free hand touches the
playing surface;


2.10.01.11 if a doubles opponent strikes the ball
out of the sequence established by the
first server and first receiver;

2.10.01.12 as provided under the expedite system
(2.15.2).
Blade: Whatever is close
Rubber Sheet: Whatever still has some grip.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.

Become a Fan on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Web Wiz News
Forum Home | Go to the Forums | Forum Help | Disclaimer

MyTableTennis.NET is the trading name of Alex Table Tennis Ltd.

Copyright ©2003-2020 Alex Table Tennis Ltd. All rights reserved.