Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

When to know to upgrade to composite

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
mon22 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mon22 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: When to know to upgrade to composite
    Posted: 01/03/2011 at 9:55pm
been playing with the same blade for a year a week from now, and was wondering if a carbon blade would benefit me.

Is there a noticeable difference playing from a 7ply wood to a carbon blade?

I am a total Newb. Come at me!
Sponsored Links

nicefrog View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nicefrog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01/04/2011 at 12:22am
All the different types of carbon play completely different so it's impossible to say. Some Hinoki carbons.. ok maybe all Hinoki carbon's are super faster with lots of rebound. Balsa cored carbons are also often silly fast but don't feel the same (you can also get some very slow balsa carbons). Limba carbons are different again (more normal feeling but still stiffer and faster). If you get a thick enough top ply on them or a soft carbon, then they can be pretty much like an all wood blade, just more expensive :)

Edited by nicefrog - 01/04/2011 at 12:23am

mon22 View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mon22 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01/04/2011 at 6:40pm
how about playing characteristics frog? I understand their composition plays a part too, but the whole notion of a "larger sweet spot" is what im looking for (sorry i didnt specify)
nicefrog View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nicefrog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01/04/2011 at 7:38pm