Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Gluing Problems

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ndotson View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ndotson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Gluing Problems
    Posted: 09/19/2014 at 1:30pm
Last night I had some problems gluing and I'm hoping y'all could give me some help. I'm no expert, but I have glued 20+ sheets of rubber in the past and I've never had any problems. Here's the scenario/equipment:
Blade: Juic Balsa C (I had applied a very light coat of varnish about a week ago)
Rubber: Adidas P7 (new)
Glue: Revolution No. 3 (normal viscosity...seemed very thin)

First attempt: I put one layer of glue on both the blade and the rubber, let it dry, placed the rubber bottom first and used a roller from the bottom to the top. The rubber, which is naturally convex, pulled the glue right off the blade and there were large air pockets. I tried using the roller to flatten and hopefully re-adhere the rubber/glue, but it wouldn't stick to the blade.

Second Attempt: I put 2 layers of glue on the blade and 3 layers of glue on the rubber (which are the directions on the glue for 'professional use'). I let each layer dry completely (it took almost an hour). The result was exactly the same as the first attempt. Very frustrating.

I watched the revolution no.3 videos. It seemed like I was doing everything the same. This was my first time using this glue, which leads me to believe the issue is with the glue itself. Any thoughts on this?
Korbel
H3 / Curl P1
Sponsored Links

GeneralSpecific View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote GeneralSpecific Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09/19/2014 at 1:44pm