Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Hitting the Wall

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ztec View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ztec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hitting the Wall
    Posted: 02/13/2010 at 6:03pm
So this is how my personal TT story goes: I used to play around on the weekends at my local Chinese school in middle school. I dropped TT in high school for basketball, and now I'm taking TT back up as a freshman in college for my school team. When I first got to our school club, I was more or less a total novice again, I could only block, couldn't use spin at all, much less return it. Well, needless to say, I was motivated to really improve and I'm really into the game now. I managed to practice plenty over the first semester and winter break, so I'm certainly much improved from the beginning of this year. However, I'm kind of in a rut now because of that improvement. Our school club is divided more or less into two teams that compete, team 1 and 2 (1 being the better team that actually counts to the school record). In that one semester and winter break I've managed to overcome everyone on team 2, and now I find I really get little out of playing them. However, I don't really get the chance to play team 1 people because they prefer to play each other, understandably of course. Basically, I've landed right in between the two teams now, and I still want to get better to make it onto team 1, but I feel like because of the limitations of being able to play better people all the time, my progress is definitely slowing down. So have you guys ever hit a wall in your progress? And if so, how did you handle it? How'd you manage to get over it and keep progressing? 
Your play will change your opinion of your equipment more than your equipment will change your opinion of your play.
Sponsored Links