Alex Table Tennis - MyTableTennis.NET Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How to return a long serve

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
ZingyDNA View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ZingyDNA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How to return a long serve
    Posted: 09/19/2008 at 7:26pm
Hi, I'm new to the forum with a few baisc questions. I just started playing in a local club and a few players really likes to serve long with under/side spin.
The ball comes at me very fast with a lot of spin. I tried to block or push it but didn't work.

Do I have to loop it? They usually serve to my backhand side and I don't have a BH loop. If I step further to the left (I'm right-handed) to loop with forehand, I'll be in awkward position as I don't have enough time...
Sponsored Links

hafawaz View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hafawaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09/19/2008 at 8:11pm

you have to improve your reflexes - which takes time.  when that happens you should be able to attack that serve with either a backhand or forehand loop. 

however, in the meantime, you can return with an aggressive stroke such as a backhand loop or an aggressive block putting your opponent on he defensive setting it up for a possibl attack on the 4th ball. 

the key is your read on the serve and speed of your reaction to put you in a position to attack. 
Senkoh - 85 with Sriver EL 2.1
Keyshot Light with Sriver FX 2.1
Ranger-man View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ranger-man Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09/19/2008 at 8:17pm