FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login
tabletennis11.com

Bw2:red sponge Review - Fruitloop

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Fruit loop View Drop Down
Silver Member
Silver Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fruit loop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bw2:red sponge Review - Fruitloop
    Posted: 08/02/2011 at 12:42pm
1. The reviewer:
I'm from Australia so i do not have a usatt rating. I've been playing for 3 1/2 years and I'm a two-winged looper. I have the bw2r "hard" which i think is 39-40 degree(?) in black on a timo boll spark. It's the tuned version. I'm using it on the forehand side.

2. Physical Properties:
It looks/feels like the original bw2 except with a deep red sponge. Topsheet slight tack like the original. Same tuning layer. The only difference i noticed was it felt slightly softer when you pressed down on it.

3. Speed:
- Speed on slow strokes - I was actually surprised by how fast this rubber was on slow strokes like counter-hitting. The rubber just seemed to exude power from the first ball I hit, even on my all-round blade. It wasn't overly fast like a bryce or even tenergy but just more than I had expected after my experience with the original bw2.
- Speed on power loops - Very, very good. Not much else I can say, it's just really good in this area.
- Speed on power drives/smashes - For smashing, this is the best traditional tacky chinese rubber that i've used. Drives and kill loops are every bit as good as the black sponge version. Best rubber i've played with in this area. Take this with a grain of salt though, as my technique has probably improved as well.

4. Spin:
- Spin on a loops - Like all tacky rubbers it's great in this area. It's definitely spinny enough for its speed but i do wish it had a little more spin (who doesn't wish they had more spin). It's not near hurricane levels of spin but still better than 95% of other rubbers. On par with tenergy imo.